summarylocations & peopleprojectsworkshopsinformationnews
Research Awards

Research Award Marquardt

Research Award Graham

Research Award Zirnbauer


Three members of the SFB/TR 12 have received major research awards.
Florian Marquardt will be awarded the 2009 Walter-Schottky-Preis, the most recognized German award in solid state science.
Robert Graham receives the 2009 Max-Planck medal. The medal is granted once per year by the German Physics Society and is considered one of the highest awards in theoretical physics.
Martin Zirnbauer receives a 2009 Gottfried-Wilhelm-Leibniz-Preis. The Leibniz Preis is awarded by the German Research Foundation (DFG) and is the scientific award endowed with the highest price money worldwide - 2.5 million Euros.

We congratulate the three awardees. The prizes recognize outstanding individual contributions to theoretical physics. However, it may also be due to point out that all three awards are given for work central to the major theme of our SFB - universal aspects of quantum coherence in mesoscopic structures. This, we feel, reflects positively on the topical orientation of the research center, and on our team spirit.
©2008 SFB|TR12 - editorial - contact form